Hovingham Primary School http://www.hovingham.leeds.sch.uk Latest news from Hovingham en-gb Consultation on the proposal to lower the age range of Hovingham Primary School from 3-11 years to 2-11 years http://www.hovingham.leeds.sch.uk/about-our-school/news/consultation-on-the-proposal-to-lower-the-age-range-of-hovingham-primary-school-from-3-11-years-to-2-11-years/ 28th April to 12th May 2017 Golden Owl Awards Ceremony http://www.hovingham.leeds.sch.uk/about-our-school/news/golden-owl-awards-ceremony/ The Student Council are ecstatic to confirm that after our entry into the Leeds Young Film Awards, we were announced the WINNERS of the KS2 category on Thursday 30th March at a Black Tie event at Leeds Town Hall. We all got dressed up for the event and after some photo opportunities with some of the cast from Star Wars we were shown to our seats in the main hall. After being announced the winners we were asked to go on stage to receive our award. It was then we were treated to an award winning acceptance speech from Safa, Malaika, Isha and Sidra. It was a great night with students, teachers and parents who all came together to celebrate all the work the student council have done. I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone for their support over the past few months with the 'Keeping Hovingham Tidy' video. Year 5 Football Friendly http://www.hovingham.leeds.sch.uk/about-our-school/news/year-5-football-friendly/ YR5 Boys played Weetwood Primary School at Hovingham. The boys tried their best and showed good sportsmanship but lost 4-1. Year 6 Football Tournament http://www.hovingham.leeds.sch.uk/about-our-school/news/year-6-football-tournament/ YR6 had a whole year group Football tournament on 29th March 2017, from 1-3pm. All the children were split in to 10 teams of 6. They played 7 matches, across 3 pitches. Aqua Festival http://www.hovingham.leeds.sch.uk/about-our-school/news/aqua-festival/ 24 children from YR4 went to the Aqua Festival on 29th March 2017. They swam and raced well! Hovingham finished in 5th place, with 140 points. We had two 1st place wins!! Year 1 Bikeability http://www.hovingham.leeds.sch.uk/about-our-school/news/year-1-bikeability/ Due to the massive success of last years Bikeability programme with Year 6 we have asked them to come back this week and run sessions with 1OK. Pictures to follow Year 4 Swimming http://www.hovingham.leeds.sch.uk/about-our-school/news/year-4-swimming/ Year 4 have been swimming for a second time this year, 1 hour a day, for the whole week at Leeds Grammar School, (week commencing 20th Feb 2017). Everyone achieved their Level 1, water confident badge and received them in assembly! All the children can swim unaided, an amazing achievement. Well done YR4. Chocolate Bingo http://www.hovingham.leeds.sch.uk/about-our-school/news/chocolate-bingo/ The next Friends of Hovingham event is fast approaching. Keep your eyes open for more information about 'Chocolate Bingo' this Thursday 30th March 3:15pm onwards. £1 for two tickets. The Leeds Young Film Festival http://www.hovingham.leeds.sch.uk/about-our-school/news/the-leeds-young-film-festival/ The student council recently entered The Leeds Young Film Festival competition and we have just found out that their film has been shortlisted in the KS2 Non-fiction Category and they are now Golden Owl Nominees. This is a massive achievement for the children and Miss Brown who runs the student council. As a result the children have all been invited to the Golden Owl Awards Ceremony on Thursday 30th March 2017 at Leeds Town Hall where the winners will be announced. World Food Event http://www.hovingham.leeds.sch.uk/about-our-school/news/world-food-event/ All parents and families are welcome at our world food event which is taking place in the school hall on Wednesday 22nd Feb.